Seed World

Alberta Wheat Commission Welcomes New Directors and Regional Representatives

The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) announces that following a call for nominations in Region 3 for two Directors and three Regional Representatives, all positions have been filled by acclamation._x000D_
Joining the AWC Board of Directors is Trevor Petersen from Penhold and returning Director Terry Young from Lacombe. Regional Representatives that were nominated include Jason Lenz from Bentley, Michael Ammeter from Sylvan Lake, and current AWC Chair and longtime Director, Kent Erickson from Irma, who did not seek another term on the Board._x000D_
“On behalf of our Board, I would like to thank Kent for his leadership and the time and dedication he put into getting the AWC started, said Kevin Auch, Vice-Chair of the Board. “Kent was integral in setting the strategic direction for our organization and his input will impact the organization for many years to come. We are thrilled to be able to continue utilizing his knowledge and experience during his time as a Regional Representative over the next three years._x000D_
The newly elected Directors take position following the Annual General Meeting on January 27, 2016 at FarmTech. All Directors and Reps serve three year terms._x000D_
Elections for Directors and Regional Representatives are held each fall. For 2016, Regions 1 and 5 will be electing new Directors and Reps. Growers interested in joining the AWC Board can speak to a Director in those Regions to learn more about the nomination process. For more information about AWC and the role of Directors and Reps, please visit