Seed World

WGRF Welcomes Five New Directors

The Western Grains Research Foundation (WGRF) welcomed five new directors at its Annual Meeting in Winnipeg._x000D_
Graeme Manness of Domain, Man., replaced Gerrid Gust as the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association nominee. Glenn Tait of North Battleford, Sask., replaced Bill Gehl as the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission nominee. Robert Misko of Roblin, Man., replaced Ray Askin as the Manitoba Wheat & Barley Growers Association nominee. Terry Young of Lacombe, Alta., replaced Kevin Auch as the Alberta Wheat Commission nominee. Corey Loessin of Radisson, Sask., replaced D’Arcy Hilgartner as the Western Pulse Growers nominee. Dave Sefton of Broadview, Sask., was re-elected as chair and Dr. Keith Degenhardt of Hughenden, Alta., was re-elected as vice-chair._x000D_
“2015 was a remarkable year for WGRF,” said Dave Sefton, board chair. “Last year WGRF invested $19.6 million into variety development and field crop research.  We are currently managing over 245 research commitments including core program funding for wheat and barley variety development as well as singular projects from the Endowment Fund. I would like to express my appreciation to the retiring directors for their commitment to WGRF and dedication to agriculture research.”_x000D_
“WGRF has experienced a lot of growth, over the past few years,” said Garth Patterson, WGRF executive director. “WGRF’s singular focus on funding crop research brings many diverse farm groups together to collaborate for the benefit of western Canadian farmers. WGRF is in an excellent position to continue this success for years to come.”